Mary, a year or so later

I’ve wondered a lot about seasons in our relationships with God. I’m not pondering their existence, but I am wondering how much of life is about pushing through and how much is about riding the waves a bit until they calm down. Jesus stills some storms, but when he doesn’t, our lives sometimes loose that glow that they once had.

I want to know what happened to Mary of Bethany. The consolation of Israel loved her and she loved him. Her Messiah came near and she gave everything for him. What happened in her life 5, 10, 20 years down the road? How did she handle things? How did her love for Jesus wax and wane?

I try to compare myself to others and the ways they’ve handled the storms of life and found this an unfulfilling, disappointing experience. What is that quote? “Comparisons are odious.” (Lydgate, 1440).

Mostly, I hear the Lord saying, “Amy, I am here. I’ll always be here. I’ll be faithful to the end.” And I find myself wanting to crawl up in my Daddy-God’s lap, feeling the comfort of his royal robes and the curls in his hair, the smell of his breath.

Leave a comment